Awards 2014

MEDIAADVISORY2014AWARDS   MEDIA ADVISORY NATIONAL ETHNIC PRESS AND MEDIA COUNCIL OF CANADA Conseil national de la presseet des medias ethniques du Canada                                                                            “Canada’s Other Voices” Office of the President October 14, 2014 Lieutenant Governor to Honour Award Winners  From …





Conseil national de la presseet des medias ethniques du Canada

                                                                           “Canada’s Other Voices

Office of the President

October 14, 2014

Lieutenant Governor to Honour Award Winners

 From the


The Honourable  ElizabethDowdeswell,29thLieutenant Governor of Ontario, will present certificates and the medal of the National Ethnic Press and Media Council of Canada. Recipients include 15 publishers/editors, 9 journalists, 12 individuals and 3 directors of electronic media, who made significant long term contribution to the ethnic press and communities of Canada.

The ceremony will take place on Friday, November 14, 2014  in the Lieutenant Governor’s Suiteat Queen’s Park.

Time: 6:00 pm


Location: Lieutenant Governor’s Suite

Ontario Legislative Building

West entrance (Media I.D will be required and must arrive by 5:30)

Queen’s Park


Directions: Filming and photos can be taken during the ceremony.

AWARD Recipients



Category: “Distinguished Services to Communities” 

1.- JOLLIFFE, ERIC                   (Humanities/Public Service/Community)    Chief, York Regional Police

2.- SLOLY,  PETER                   (Public Service/Human Rights/ Equality)        Deputy Chief  Toronto Police



Individuals: “For Services Rendered to their Community”


3.-  ESANANDA,  ESA PARA     (Humanities/ Culture/Education)                           (Sri Lankan)

4.-   FAZI, HASSAN SAYED, DR.     (Humanities/ Education/ Community)              (Afghani)

5.-  GEKAS, GEORGE  Dr.    (Community Service/ Education/ Arts)                          (Greek)

6-  HAUSMAN, ROBERTO (Charles)          (Humanities/Culture/Education)            (Uruguay)

7.-   KANDAVANAM, VINAYAGAR Dr.        (Community/Arts/Letters)                      (Tamil)

8-  MAYE,  MARGARET         (Humanities/ Philanthropy/Arts)      (Polish)

9.-   SRITHARAN,  NATHAN     (Humanities/ Community/ Arts)                               (South Asian)

10.-  TISSENBAUM,  SIMONE           (Leader of Tomorrow/ Humanities)                (Student)

11.-  TOWHID,           NOMAN           (Community Service Education)                     (Bangladeshi)

12.-  VIEIRA, EDUARDO           (Community Service/  Journalism)                          (Portuguese)

Category:  Journalists

(For Life Time Services rendered to Journalism)

1.-  AMIR  MAHIM      (For his dedication to Media and His service to Community)


2.-  ESTEVES  ANTONIO    (For his talent and contribution to integration into Canadian Society of the Portuguese communities in Canada)                                                              (Portuguese)

3.-  ISLAM   SARIFUL       (For His dedication and talents in support of the media) (Bangladeshi)

4.- KARATSIKIS, KONSTANTINOS   (Life Time Achievements)                                     (Greek)

5.-  KUITENBROUWER    PETER    (For his services to media community and the cause of equality)                                                                                                                           (National Post)

6.- KUMOR  ANDREZEJ    (For his enthusiasm and efforts to inform the Polish Canadian Communities )                                                                                                                     (Polish)

7.-  NISHANTHA  DON    (For His dedication to Free Press and Democracy)     (Sri Lankan)

8-  TARUC, MARIVEL     (For Her Dedication to Media. Her Services to all Canadians)

                                                                                                                                      (CBC- Pilipino)

  9-   SARKER   BIDYUT    (For his dedication to respect of Human Rights and His services to Bengali Canadian Communities.)                                                                               (Bengali)

Category: Newspapers

“For Best Editorial / Free Expression / Long years of Service/ Concept and Visual Presentation”


1.-  AFGHAN  POST                           (Ahmad Shah Hotaki)                                 (Afghani)

2.-   ARABIA  NEWS                           (Alseyet   Nasser )                                      (Arabic)

3.-EL CENTRO                          (Susana  Donan)     (Latino)

4.– “GHANAIAN NEWS”                (Emmanuel Ayiku)                                      (Ghanaian)

5.-  “LATVIJA AMERIKA”                               (Vita, Gaike)                               ( Latvian)

6.-   “Lo Specchio”                                         (Sergio Tagliavini)                         (Italian)

7.-   “OBSERVATORUL”                                  (DumitruPopescu)                   (Romanian)

8.-“PHILIPPINE REPORTER”                         Hermie Garcia                               (Filipino)

9.-   “SRI LANKA REPORTER”               (Srimal Abeyewardene)                    (Sri Lankan)

10.-  “TZTA  ETHIOPIAN”                       (TeshomWoLdamanuel)                      (Ethiopian)

11.-  “URDU POST”                                    (Rafiq, Ahmed –Deputy Editor-)        (Urdu)

12.-  “UTHAYAN”                             (Logan Logendralingam)    (Tamil)



  1. 1.      ETC & TAL  Magazine                ISA   MELO                                       (Brazilian)
  2. 2.      HAFTEH   magazine                   SHEMIRANIE  KHOSRO                 (Iranian)
  3. 3.     PLANET AFRICA Magazine      MOSES A. MAWA                           (African Media)



  1. 1.      Enzo Di Mauro        (Italicus.Ca Video Magazine),                                                    (Italian)
  2. 2.      GALIATSOS    PETER                     ( VIDEOGRAPHER)  (Greek )
  3. 3.      Paulton  McKenzie-Johnson               (Caribbean Headlines News                  (Caribbean)


We thankfully acknowledge financial support received from the Ministry of Citizenship and Immigration of Ontario and the Toronto Dominion (TD) Banking Group,Towards this project.